Skip to content

Wedding: Heather and Jeremy

August 17, 2010

Heather was one of my first readers when I began this blog, sending me new recipes and interesting foodie finds. So I was delighted to shoot her wedding, which was certain to be as lovely and laid back as she was. But when she told me it would be in a barn on a wildlife preserve in Montana, I knew it would be special.

The Teller Preserve watches over 1,200 acres of land in  Montana’s Bitterroot Valley. This is big sky country. I woke up at sunrise to watch the light flood the landscape.

I love this beautiful light on Heather – she looked radiant the entire day.

After a morning of pre-wedding fly fishing, Jeremy was relaxed and enjoying himself.

Nearly everything in this wedding was made by friends and family. The beautiful wildflowers came from a nearby farm, arranged by talented friends. And the cake, a three-layer, death-by-chocolate masterpiece was baked over three days by Heather’s sister-in-law. Nothing like having a pastry chef in the family!

Both Heather and Jeremy are lovers of words. Their rings, carried by this dapper young ring bearer, were nestled in a copy of Jane Eyre.

The ceremony, a beautiful mix of Heather’s poetry and Ovid, took place under the spreading branches of two ancient trees.

Next, to the restored farmhouse for champagne and some moving toasts.

To the barn for the party! Dinner was served all fresco, ringed by fields and mountains.

Guests all sent pictures of their wedding days, which were displayed in the barn alongside favors of homemade jam. But the real showstopper was the extraordinary quilt made by Heather’s mother, with squares contributed by friends and family.

Finally, two of my favorites moments from the day. Congratuations!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 5:12 am

    Liz, these are beautiful!!!! You’ve really captured the whole day in a beautiful style! I also love your wide scenic shots!

  2. August 17, 2010 5:56 am

    What an incredible location! Beautiful scenery and portraits. Looks like a perfect day!

  3. August 17, 2010 9:02 am

    Liz, these photos took my breath away! Absolutely stunning x

  4. Kristen permalink
    August 17, 2010 3:35 pm

    What a beautiful location and what gorgeous pictures!!

  5. August 17, 2010 5:05 pm

    Liz, these are incredible! You did such a great job! (and it was so great to meet you). Can’t wait to see some of the outtakes :)

  6. Shirley permalink
    August 17, 2010 5:09 pm

    Breathtaking is all I can come up with.
    What a beautiful setting and bride – handsome groom, too.
    Everyone is clearly very happy.
    I loved the pictures of the cake – looks so yummy- and the tables out in the field.

    And the quilt!!!! So beautiful.

    Best wishes to continue the day everyday.

  7. August 17, 2010 5:19 pm

    I’m astounded by these pictures, Liz. I didn’t think it was possible to capture the essence of the intimacy and the beauty of the The Teller and the wedding but you did it superbly. Erin and I loved meeting you and Shravan – hope we connect again soon on one of the coasts.

  8. wilkeyem permalink
    August 17, 2010 5:40 pm

    Oh, Liz! You certainly have a gift. These are extraordinary. It was great meeting you and Shravan (as Paul said). I’ll definitely be exploring your blog! And I also hope we reconnect one day.

  9. Pat Mumford permalink
    August 17, 2010 6:13 pm

    Congratulations to a beautiful couple. These pictures are stunning, as is the bride! Best wishes!

  10. Barbara Hasselbach permalink
    August 17, 2010 6:42 pm

    These photos are so stunning, as are Heather and Jeremy. What a wonderfully perfect location for their wedding. So sad I wasn’t able to make it!

  11. August 17, 2010 7:14 pm

    And Shravan! How can I forget you and the cultural experience we had in Hamilton, MT? I too, hope we can have a reunion on a coast somewhere. Cheers!!!

  12. Nicoel Magnuson permalink
    August 17, 2010 11:14 pm

    I’m sitting at my desk with tears in my eyes. What a beautiful day for these two fine people, and what a treat to be able to share it so soon afterwards through the magic of technology.

  13. August 18, 2010 3:59 am

    wow. the scenery is just so breathtaking!
    i love how they really involved their loved ones with wedding pictures from the loved one’s weddings. how sweet!
    seems like the beautiful day was in agreement to the couple being wedded. congrats to them!

  14. Elyse Eidman-Aadahl permalink
    August 18, 2010 3:24 pm

    This are stunning pictures and really let me feel as if I were there. It looks like a wedding so beautiful in its simplicity of focus on the day and the participants that it is profound.

  15. August 18, 2010 4:28 pm

    gorgeous photos!!!! and what a beautiful location for a wedding!

  16. Andrea Sterling permalink
    August 20, 2010 7:46 pm

    Just beautiful, Liz. You really captured the essence of the day. It was lovely to see you again after so many years. When your travels bring you to North Carolina, let me know! Terry, Porter, and I would love to see you and your family again.

  17. Mimi permalink
    August 21, 2010 4:07 am

    These beautiful pictures are now a family treasure, you captured the day in an incredible and masterful photo shoot. The massive weeping willow was truly amazing!

  18. August 27, 2010 4:10 pm

    Beautiful photographs……love the blues, reds and the jam jars on the wood round

  19. September 27, 2010 8:15 pm

    Lovely photos. I know this area well as my father retired there 15 years ago and I have to say, you captured it very well!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

