Skip to content

Guest Post by Mowielicious: Meringue Ice Cream Cake With Summer Berries

June 20, 2010

This week’s recipe is a special treat: a guest post by Mowie of the beautiful blog Mowielicious. He’s such a rockstar that he barely needs an intro, but here it is in a nutshell: he’s a fantastic baker and writer with a penchant for everything pink (I mean, he even found pink strawberry flowers, who knew those existed.)

I’ve been enjoying Mowielicious since I started blogging, in love with his sweet treats and stunning styling (I couldn’t bake a macaron if my life depended on it, let alone put them in tulip buds.) If I had to pick a favorite post, it would have to be these amazing pear clafoutis, with these macarons a close second. So when we finally connected, I was pleased to find him as funny and lovely as he appears on the blog, open to sharing ideas and suggesting a collaboration. This week, his post will appear here; next week my icy summer sweet will appear over at Mowielicious. And now, I’ll turn it over to Mowie.

Mowie: A few weeks ago I published a baked apple pancake recipe on my blog, one of the many I got from my grandmother’s recipe books. Her collection is a treasure trove of classic and traditional German recipes that I grew up enjoying. When I stumbled upon her Meringue Ice Cream Cake recipe, I couldn’t recall ever tasting it. It was one of those she’d made once and never again, even though right next to the title, in capital letters, was the word ‘Excellent’. She explained to me that with a lifetime’s worth of recipes (90 years!), even though some were truly exceptional, she always tended to stick to the few that she memorized and kept in her weekly recipe collection.

It made me realise I do exactly the same thing. Even though there are so many days in the year, and so many new recipes to try, why is it that we stick to repeating only a handful of favourites every week? That’s not to say I’m not an adventurous cook – far from it, I try something new every day. Anyway, from the title alone, I knew I had to have an attempt at creating this luscious cake. And it turned out beautifully. It’s easy to make, does what it says in the title (literally made from iced cream – so no need for an ice cream machine), and is a definite keeper for long, hot summer days. Try making it with different fruit or substituting the chocolate for chopped nuts. It’s as versatile as it is delicious!

Mowie’s Meringue Ice Cream Cake with Summer Berries

For the Meringue Base
4 eggwhites
225g caster sugar

For the Ice Cream Topping
600ml whipping cream
200g icing sugar
300g 34% chocolate, chopped roughly

1. Preheat the oven to around 145 degrees centigrade (300 F). Line a round spring-sided cake tin (diameter 23cm/9″ x depth 8cm/3″) with parchment paper.

2. Whip the eggwhites in a bowl until stiff.

3. Slowly add the caster sugar and whisk until completely incorporated.

4. Pour into cake tin, place in a middle to low shelf of the oven and bake for about an hour or until the meringue is hard to the touch.

5. Remove from the oven and allow to cool in the cake tin.

6. Whisk the whipping cream until stiff, fold the icing sugar and chocolate pieces into the whipped cream and pour over cool meringue (still in cake tin). Place in freezer for at least 4 hours.

7. Before serving, top with summer berries.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Chanel permalink
    June 21, 2010 1:52 am

    It looks absolutely stunning :)

  2. June 21, 2010 9:40 am

    Love your photography Liz, very inspiring! And I can attest to this cake tasting every bit as good as it looks!

  3. June 21, 2010 9:59 am

    Meringue and ice cream together sounds a fabulous combination and served as a cake topped with all this beautiful fruit looks truly wonderful. What a treat!

  4. June 21, 2010 10:33 am

    Mowie, seems another great recipe. I am taking notes. Last week I baked about 3 of your recipes as I mentioned to you, and they were all very delicious. I got loads of compliments. it is not only your photography that is wonderful, but also the recipes.

    Liz, I plan on making many more visits to your blogs. Amazing photography.

  5. June 21, 2010 11:47 am

    You always manage to find beauty in simplicity. Another fantastic creation.

  6. June 21, 2010 11:49 am

    I’m really happy to have discovered your blog through Mowie’s recipe! I’ll visit very often!

  7. June 21, 2010 12:37 pm

    Stunning dessert Mowie and probably the most perfect confection for summertime. Beautiful. Love your grandma. I want to taste this!

  8. June 21, 2010 2:17 pm

    Stunning! So glad to have discovered your wonderful blog thanks to Mowielicious.

  9. June 21, 2010 3:19 pm

    This is an absolutely gorgeous dessert!

  10. June 21, 2010 4:07 pm

    It looks amazing!!!!! So appetizing!

  11. June 21, 2010 6:09 pm

    This Cake looks absolutely delicious! I am very happy to have discovered you lovely blog. I am looking forward to new articles! :o)

  12. June 21, 2010 9:08 pm

    This meringue extravaganza looks divine. My word -beautifully photographed! An impressive looking dessert that I may have to try out!!! Thanks for the inspiration Mowie. xo

  13. June 22, 2010 4:16 am

    Beautiful post…and you have a great site here,looking forward to seeing more:)

  14. June 22, 2010 5:52 am

    WOW this is beautiful! My husband is a gi-normous meringue fan. I just made him a lemon pie in a merginue shell for Father’s Day and I can see that this recipe is next! Bookmarked:)

  15. Carla permalink
    June 22, 2010 5:26 pm

    Gall, I want to try this cake so bad. Ice cream…berries…it’s all too much flavor goodness!

  16. June 22, 2010 10:45 pm

    if zurich finally realizes that no, it’s not actually winter again… then i will be all over making this recipe. i loooove meringue in every shape and form. and who doesn’t love ice cream ? together – and after getting jazzed up by sweet genius mowie and a family recipe – that’s heaven ! looking forward to your post on his blog soon too.

  17. June 23, 2010 1:59 am

    STNNING..and screamingly so! Mowie knows how to create magic with the simplest of things! This creation is gorgeous in every way, the photography too! LOL, yes macs in a tulip!! I still shudder each time I try and find feet in my macs, and he took to them like he’d been baking them all his life! Wonderful to find him here on a guest post. It’s a great idea Liz! Also, wonderful to have discovered your beautiful blog!

  18. June 23, 2010 4:16 am

    That cake looks delicious. I’m a huge fan of Mowie’s and I’m so glad he introduced us to your lovely blog!

  19. June 23, 2010 7:38 pm

    Simple and gorgeous. In Nigeria we say ‘true word no need argument’ – meaning, you don’t need to argue over the truth. Gorgeous Mowie

  20. June 25, 2010 12:41 pm

    lovely combination of ice cream and meringue, mowie. the perfect summer dessert!

  21. June 30, 2010 9:56 am

    Oh wow! Amazing, and so simple – and you don’t even need an ice-cream maker! Right, done deal, that’s going to be the desert at my next dinner party!

  22. bloggercsstemplate permalink
    July 10, 2010 9:12 pm

    Awesome pictures. I rate all for 9. Good job.

    Saul Dr.

  23. Jessica permalink
    July 12, 2010 12:30 pm

    I love meringue..I’d really like to have a piece of this amazing cake..

  24. September 6, 2010 1:17 am

    Nice photos!

  25. May 11, 2011 9:01 am

    What a mouth-watering ice cream cake topped with berries…. just love it….definitely try to make it this summer with my friends coming along…. the pics are amazing! Thx so much for sharing with me!

  26. Robin permalink
    July 19, 2013 1:33 am

    I’d like to try but measurements aren’t american equivalent………. help

Trackbacks

  1. Pattaya One News
  2. 20 Berry Cool Summer Treats

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

