Skip to content

Out and About: Bar Tabac and Frankies

June 2, 2010

This Memorial Day was a long, glorious, traipsing through gardens kind of weekend. To celebrate the arrival of summer, Brooklyn Based asked me to do a roundup of outdoor dining, including two of my favorite neighborhood spots. Bar Tabac (top) serves cold Stella, spicy merguez sausage and tall cones of fries, with a sidewalk view of Smith Street. Frankies (bottom) offers ambiance and otherworldly pasta.

It was also perfect for portraits.. of me, actually. You’d think that being married to a photographer I’d have one or two, but we never seem to get around to it, possibly because we both prefer to be behind the camera (also possibly because he’s always flying around the world at a moment’s notice).

So when I needed one this week, my friend Julie came on a Brooklyn wander where I giggled my way through hundreds of photos while she patiently snapped away. Much to her credit, we ended up with dozens of fun ones (see her favorites on her blog). Thanks Julie!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 7:09 pm

    Awesome photos Liz. Street photography and street portraits have brain-jacked my mind. Reminds me of that I need to get out soon and take some shots.

    Thanks for sharing it with us.

    Have a good one.

  2. June 8, 2010 7:10 pm

    looks like you had a lovely weekend, great photos, warm, summery and very inviting :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

