Skip to content

Sage Brunch Biscuits with Strawberries, Bacon and Honey Crème Fraiche

May 9, 2010

Overnight, my little garden has come back to life. The strawberries, oranges and mint I expected, but the sage, tarragon and chives sprung up unannounced, bursting into bloom after a long winter’s nap.

After a month of travelling – and 50 hours in the air! – I could not have been happier to have a leisurely day in my own kitchen. I wanted to use the bright purple sage flowers, which are apparently edible (who knew). But most sage recipes I found were geared towards fall, so I re-created a brunch biscuit I tasted last spring on a vineyard in Maine.

It’s an awesome mix of savory and sweet. First you take a buttermilk sage biscuit, all warm and crumbly. Then comes strawberry jam, crispy bacon and a fresh strawberry. Bake until golden and top with a dollop of honey crème fraische. I ate three hot out of the oven before I even took out the camera.

The topping sounds fancy but is super simple – add a squeeze of honey to the crème fraische, which is a milder version of sour cream. Out of curiosity, I bought a bottle of sage honey, to see what those bees were making with my flowers. It was tasty, but totally not essential. All I really needed to make this meal perfect was a strawberry Pimm’s cup cocktail and bare feet on my back deck in the spring sunshine.


Sage Brunch Biscuits with Strawberries, Bacon and Honey Crème Fraiche
Adapted from Gourmet, February 2000
Makes 20

1 lb. bacon, cooked and crumbled
10 ripe strawberries, halved
3 tablespoons strawberry preserves

2 cups all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons finely chopped fresh sage
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 stick cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
3/4 cup well-shaken buttermilk plus additional for brushing

8 oz. crème fraiche (or sour cream)
honey

Preheat oven to 450°F.

Whisk together flour, sage, baking powder, sugar, baking soda, and salt. Blend in butter with your fingers or a food processor until mixture resembles coarse meal. Stir in buttermilk, stirring until a dough forms. Gather dough into a ball and gently knead on a lightly floured surface 8 times. Pat or roll dough until 1/2 inch thick and cut into 2 inch rounds.

Arrange biscuits about 1 inch apart on a greased baking sheet and brush tops with additional buttermilk. With the back of a spoon or your thumb, press indents into each biscuit, leaving a rim around the outside. Place about 1/2 tsp. of jam in each, and some bacon crumbles. Place strawberry half on top, and press down firmly.

Bake in middle of oven until golden brown and biscuits are cooked through, about 7-10 minutes. Mix crème fraiche with honey until slightly sweet, to taste. Serve warm, topped with crème fraiche mixture and garnished with edible flowers.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 6:55 am

    They look like perfect little bites! I wish our garden had such a lovely bounty too buy sofar the snails always seem to win!!

  2. May 9, 2010 12:41 pm

    WOW – stunning, stunning, stunning photos. Just look at those colours and that honey! Your lighting technique is amazing and very inspiring, must give it a try. These biscuits sound perfect for a Sunday brunch.

  3. Liz permalink
    May 9, 2010 2:15 pm

    Thanks Mowie! For this shoot, my lighting technique consisted of two sheets of wax paper taped over my living room window, and two little drug store mirrors for highlights on the berries, with my laundry hamper as a background…not exactly a sophisticated setup. I dream of having a proper studio. Glad you like the honey – it was quite a production to try and hold the spoon with one hand and the camera with the other. My hamper ended up a little sweeter than it started, ha!

  4. May 9, 2010 2:31 pm

    What an unusual combinations, strawberry and bacon…
    Today I read all your posts and looked at the amazing photos you take…
    Mowie is right, all your job is stunning.

  5. Liz permalink
    May 9, 2010 2:47 pm

    Simone – I can’t claim the strawberries. Mine haven’t ripened yet, and when they do the squirrels pick them off one by one.

    Mika – Thanks for stopping by. I’ve learned quite a lot since shooting some of the older stuff on these pages!

  6. May 9, 2010 3:38 pm

    Those strawberry sage biscuits look absolutely scrumptious! Your photos are stunning!

  7. Mimi permalink
    May 9, 2010 5:44 pm

    Wow Liz, you are so creative not only in the kitchen but in your photography set up; wax paper and a laundry hamper equals gorgeous photos of sumptuous foods!

  8. May 9, 2010 9:40 pm

    OH wow. I’m in awe of all you’ve done here. The photos and this recipe look perfect.

  9. May 9, 2010 11:08 pm

    Cute little bites. i might give this a try without the bacon. The pictures make me scroll up and down while I have gazed at them at least 10 times.

  10. May 10, 2010 1:46 pm

    This is my first visit to your lovely website but I plan to return often. I will follow your directions for next Sunday’s brunch with eager anticipation. Thank you for the exquisite photographs.

    Irena Chalmers

  11. May 10, 2010 2:41 pm

    wow..theses biscuits look so good!! love the photographs!!

  12. May 11, 2010 12:12 pm

    These look amazing! I love the combo of berries and bacon – all the stuff I eat with my biscuits is in the biscuit! Awesome! And they are so pretty. I can’t wait until my strawberries get growing – I am keeping this recipe for next month when my berries are ripe!

  13. trissalicious permalink
    May 13, 2010 7:55 am

    50 hours on a plane?! The horror! I’d be so tired just thinking about it . Luckily, the biscuits, the photography of your site is so inspiring – I got over it straight away! :)

  14. May 18, 2010 4:08 pm

    Your photos…..make me weak-kneed, good thing I’m sitting. Love the honey jar – and welcome home!

  15. May 19, 2010 9:09 pm

    Oh, just gorgeous!!!
    Beautiful photos and what an interesting recipe :)

  16. May 20, 2010 3:32 pm

    Wow. Stunning photographs!

  17. May 30, 2010 6:45 pm

    I like new combinations of good stuff. And your strawberries biscuits look awesome!

  18. June 4, 2010 7:23 pm

    Love the Pimm’s Cup

  19. June 6, 2010 8:42 pm

    Bacon, strawberries, creme fraiche and a biscuit – what more could anyone want!
    -E

  20. June 21, 2010 12:47 pm

    Oh, how beautiful. The pictures talk by themselves. having been to the local PYO I have quite a lot of delicious sweetish strawberries. The house has a beautiful smell coming out of the kitchen. I just love the idea of these biscuits. I have not seen sage honey around here. i have once bought thyme honey but found it very overpowering and it s use was a bit limited due to that fact.

  21. June 25, 2010 5:59 am

    Thank you for finding me because now I have found your blog — such a sweet space you have created. Will return very soon. Love this, beautifully photographed.

  22. June 28, 2010 11:41 am

    WOW this is lovely ! found you thru Mowie-blog…eeeeeeeeeeh!

  23. July 7, 2010 11:31 am

    Wow. I am super stunned at how amazing those little bites look. Although the ideas sounds odd, your post description and truly inspiring photography has won me over. I am making these! thank-you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

