Skip to content

Grilled Peach Pizza with Goat Cheese & Honey

July 15, 2009

7.14 pizzalight

I seem to be on a streak of happy kitchen discoveries inspired by excess summer fruit.

Confronted by a fridge-full of ripe fruit and leftover dough, I decided to improvise a sweet peach pizza, a happy mashup of all my favorite things – – fresh fruit, grilling and brunch.

Peaches and goat cheese seemed like a natural combo, so all I needed was a very light glaze to bring it all together. I made a quick honey syrup with a few sprigs of thyme, and a dash of balsalmic to add a touch of tart.

A few minutes on the grill, and I had a warm, peachy masterpiece with dollops of creamy goat cheese, oozing with freshness and summer. It’s just absurdly good. I’ll be serving this for brunch – and dessert – all summer long.

Grilled Pizza with Peaches, Goat Cheese and Honey
Fresh pizza dough*
Ripe peaches, thinly sliced
1/4 water
3 T. honey
fresh thyme sprigs
2 t. balsamic vinegar
fresh goat cheese, crumbled
good olive oil, for brushing
freshly ground salt, to taste

Preheat grill on high.

Heat water until boiling, add honey and thyme. Cook down until reduced by half. Stir in balsamic vinegar and set aside.

Roll out a small handful of dough into an 8-inch pizza pie. Work on a well-floured surface, and turn the dough 90 degrees after every time you roll it to get an even circle. You want it to be fairly thin.

Lay pie on flat surface. Cover with saran wrap if rolling several out at once, and keep cool. (If they get too warm they’ll stretch and tear when you try to cook them.)

Carry pies and toppings out to grill. Brush one side of the pie lightly with olive oil and lay it, oiled side down, directly on the grill. After about a minute, rotate pie 90 degrees to make sure it’s cooking evenly. Dough will begin to puff in big bubbles, 2-3 minutes.

Slide off the grill onto a flat surface like a cutting board and flip over, reducing heat to low. Brush again lightly with olive oil. Sprinkle with goat cheese, and arrange peaches on top. Close grill top until dough crisps and cheese begins to soften, about 3 minutes.

Remove from grill and drizzle immediately with the honey-balsalmic reduction, and a few grates of coarse salt. Serve immediately.

*I buy fresh dough at Trader Joe’s but it’s easy to make as well, if you have the time.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 3:19 am

    This looks too good to be true! I love the composition of the photo, so beautiful!

  2. July 15, 2009 11:09 am

    Peaches and Goat’s cheese is one of my favorite combinations. You did a great job in paring them in this delightful pizza!! Great photo!!

  3. July 15, 2009 9:13 pm

    Ooh I love this idea! Did you get enough grill flavor or do you think I should try grilling the peaches a little first too? Either way it seems like such a nice summer dessert.

  4. Liz permalink
    July 15, 2009 9:22 pm

    Hi Brittany – The peaches I used were so ripe and sweet as it was, that they didn’t need to be grilled. I just sliced them very thinly and the heat of the grill warmed them nicely. But grilling them first couldn’t hurt either! Enjoy.

  5. Nathaniel Edwards permalink
    July 16, 2009 1:43 pm

    I have been in Japan for a year now on study abroad; I return next week. Honestly, this was moved to the top of my list of foods to make the weekend I return. Thank you, sincerely!

  6. Liz permalink
    July 16, 2009 1:45 pm

    Hi Nathaniel – Thanks for leaving such a great comment, and welcome back!

  7. July 20, 2009 2:58 pm

    That looks absolutely delicious! What a great idea and it does indeed look so very summery!

  8. July 27, 2009 7:42 pm

    Liz, This is an amazing recipe! I found the photo on Tastespotting and it gets a tweet, stumble and a digg from me. I work with Chavrie fresh goat cheese and I cannot wait to share this!

  9. laura m. permalink
    July 30, 2009 5:29 pm

    yum… I have leftover goat cheese and a grill just asking for this.

  10. August 14, 2009 2:20 am

    Talk about gorgeous photos and styling…I am completely humbled by you.

    I love, love, love goat cheese, but alas, my husband and kids do not, so I rarely enjoy it. I will go to bed dreaming about this mouth watering pizza.

  11. June 3, 2013 4:14 pm

    This recipe was delicious! We don’t have a grill so we just made it in the oven but it was still really good! I shared this recipe in my most recent meal plan on my blog rainbowdelicious.com and look forward to trying more of your recipes in the future!

Trackbacks

  1. Chocolate Cherry Ricotta Grilled Pizzas Recipe-Summer Dessert on Grill — Family Fresh Cooking
  2. millions of peaches… 20 awesome peach recipes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

