Skip to content

White Bean & Garlic Scapes Dip

June 12, 2009
tags:

Scapes

Very little makes me happier than seeing scapes – twisting garlic flowers – at the farmer’s market. They’re the early spring shoots of garlic plants, which are trimmed to encourage the bulb’s growth. They used to be tossed aside, until someone discovered their mellow, delicious flavor.

When they begin to bloom, I buy them buy the armful. I love their crazy, Medusa curls, and keep a bunch in a kitchen bouquet. Any recipe that calls for garlic – and in my house that’s nearly all of them – takes on a tangy spring twist when you sub in scapes. They have a bright, clean garlic taste with none of the pungency of their grown-up cousin.

This dip is one of my all-time favorites. I’ll sometimes throw in rosemary and lemon zest, but for the first scapes of the season I let their simple flavor shine through.

White Bean and Garlic Scapes Dip
From The New York Times

1/3 cup sliced garlic scapes (3 to 4)
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice, more to taste
1/2 teaspoon coarse sea salt, more to taste
Ground black pepper to taste
1 can (15 ounces) cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
1/4 cup good extra virgin olive oil, more for drizzling

In a food processor, process garlic scapes with lemon juice, salt and pepper until finely chopped. Addbeans and process to a rough purée.

With motor running, slowly drizzle olive oil through feed tube and process until fairly smooth. Pulse in 2 or 3 tablespoons water, or more, until mixture is the consistency of a dip. Add more salt, pepper and/or lemon juice, if desired.

Serve dip drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with coarsely ground salt and pepper.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2009 12:14 pm

    I have never seen garlic scapes at my farmers market, I will look for them, they are beautiful.
    Do you use the top flowers of the scapes? or just the stem parts?
    Thanks.

  2. June 13, 2009 4:50 pm

    i’ve never seen scapes before…will definitely keep an eye out for them at my farmer’s market now! thanks!!

  3. yummysmells permalink
    June 13, 2009 6:12 pm

    Awesome, I love garlic scapes and beans so will be giving this a “whirl”!

  4. June 13, 2009 6:34 pm

    Wow, I have never seen or heard of those scapes but they sure look absolutely beautiful! I don’t think you can get them here, although that sounds odd if they are the shoots of garlic… Hmm, have to go in search of them! Thanks for telling us about them. Love the photos by the way!

  5. Judy permalink
    June 15, 2009 1:09 pm

    SO. Delicious. I want scapes in everything now. EVERYTHING!!

  6. Liz permalink
    June 15, 2009 1:32 pm

    Stacey – For this dip, I throw the flower heads in as well; since it’s all pureed, I figure the more flavor the better. When I’m cooking scapes more like vegetables (they have the consistency of raw asparagus), I’ll just use the stems. They’re great in pesto, pasta, and sauteed with fish.

    Junglefrog – Apparently, they only cropped up here a few years ago. Farmers were throwing them out until some inspired person realized they could make money off of something that was going to waste. They’re only available a few weeks a year in early June, which is why I jump on them when I see them!

  7. June 19, 2009 8:45 pm

    Oh fun, wow! Good idea with the white beans! I just posted a garlic scape pesto recipe! Your pics look gorgeous.

  8. June 25, 2009 11:06 pm

    If I had seen this before I made my mashed potatoes with garlic scapes they may have made the menu instead! Guess I’ll just have to buy more scapes and make this now.

  9. July 24, 2009 5:55 pm

    Gorgeous photos!

  10. June 27, 2011 8:30 pm

    I made this today and it was wonderful! I had to really spend a long time pulsing/pureeing the scapes because they were fiberous if I didn’t. But it worked out fine once I got them very finely chopped. My dip turned out quite green (unlike the picture) and is very yummy!

Trackbacks

  1. Garlic Extravaganza | Ramble On
  2. Have You Tried: Garlic Scapes? | The Real Time Farms Blog
  3. Fresh Produce Tuesday- Week #5 Garlic Scapes & Green Garlic | 2 Sisters 2 Cities
  4. CSA Newsletter – June 26th @ Planting Peace Farm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

