Skip to content

Judy’s Simple Corn Soup

June 9, 2009
tags:

corn soup 2

I haven’t had lunch packed for me since my mom sent me off to preschool with a thermos of hot spaghetti and a daily cartoon puzzle, sketched on a napkin for me to decipher. I’d completely forgotten how delightful it is.

On a rainy and otherwise unremarkable Thursday, my friend Judy showed up at my office with a lovely lunch. In the midst of prepping for a tiny little test known as the bar exam, she had transformed my castoff corn, left in her fridge at a recent barbeque, into a delicious soup.

It was the perfect lunchbox: a jar of soup, tied with a thin purple ribbon, and two slices of bread (whole grain of course), wrapped in napkins so they wouldn’t get soggy. I was so pleased by the whole pretty package I could barely bring myself to eat it.

The fresh corn gives the soup a great crunch, and it’s so satisfying you’d never guess it’s impossibly simple. Judy – you sure do know how to make a girl feel special – thank you so much!

Judy’s Simple Corn Soup
1 lb. fresh corn
2 T butter
2 T flour
1/2 c chopped onion
1 1/2 c chicken broth
1 1/2 c water
salt, pepper, cayenne to taste.

Saute onion in butter, sprinkle in flour to make a roux. Add broth and water, stirring, and boil for 10 minutes. Add corn. Cook 1 minute.

Remove from heat. Hand blend to keep it chunky. That’s it!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    June 9, 2009 12:06 pm

    Lovely photo. Even at age 3 you insisted on a hot lunch; no cold sandwiches for you. Your favorite was whole wheat wagon wheel pasta in tomato sauce.

  2. Judy permalink
    June 9, 2009 12:30 pm

    Well, it was YOUR corn. I was just giving it back to you. :)

  3. June 9, 2009 1:57 pm

    That look like the perfect comfort food!

  4. June 9, 2009 4:01 pm

    Simple and delicious, that’s my kind of recipe. And the picture is so appetizing! Yum

  5. June 9, 2009 4:59 pm

    this looks so simple and so delicious. i will definitely be trying your recipe. lovely photo too!

  6. Karena permalink
    June 9, 2009 5:39 pm

    Oooh! Judy, did you make any extra? Do you think Corn Soup ships well? hee hee. I have also always had a hard time with cold lunch. Looks amazing!

  7. June 10, 2009 2:24 am

    this looks amazing!

  8. June 11, 2009 12:29 pm

    What a lovely treat! I love the photo too!

  9. noraborealis permalink
    June 12, 2009 2:54 pm

    my mom makes awesome corn soup that is similar to this, only with cream…and BACON. judy and my mom clearly need to throw down in the kitchen together.

  10. Corey permalink
    June 13, 2009 4:32 am

    i look at a lot of recipes on tastespotting, but this one really caught my eye. i love that it’s so simple, and looks so delicious!

  11. June 15, 2009 1:30 pm

    Well, Judy sure made that simple corn soup somethin’ to talk about. Looks very appetizing!

  12. July 12, 2009 12:10 pm

    I’ll be trying this one this week. Lovely friend you have there!

  13. November 16, 2009 4:45 am

    i’m at my kitchen right now, trying your recipe.
    it looks simple, let’s hope i’m doing good. :)

  14. June 10, 2011 2:23 pm

    I was looking for a nice simple and delicious corn soup and happen to stumble on you blog. After making it i must say that you really made my day :)

  15. December 21, 2013 9:35 am

    it’s Look Nice and fantastic
    Thanks for great recipe :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

