Skip to content

Savory Brunch Pizza with Poached Egg

March 29, 2009

28mar1egg

When I woke this afternoon after an epic evening of barbeque and whiskey cocktails, I wanted brunch, and I wanted it immediately.

My fridge turned up leftover ingredients from my garden pizza party – fresh dough, onions, arugula, and parmesan – but the whiskey haze clouded any ambitions to fire up the grill. I pined briefly for last night’s warm corn tortillas, which Judy and I made fresh for her carne asada spectacular, but realized I might be able to pull off the same trick with the pizza dough.

I rolled out a small round of dough and tossed it in a frying pan, where it quickly turned golden brown and puffed up obligingly. I threw on grated cheese, arugula and finely slivered onions, but decided my hangover demanded more than garden freshness. I’d seen Judy throw an egg on pizza before, and took a whirl at poaching one.

With a splash of red wine vinegar and a few grinds of pepper I had a breakfast masterpiece: gooey, lovely egg on a bed of tangy arugula and warm, cheesy crust.

Savory brunch pizza with poached egg
2 eggs
Red wine vinegar
1 package prepared pizza dough
Olive oil
Small onion, finely slivered
1/2 c. grated parmesan cheese
Salt, pepper

Heat water until just boiling, turn off heat. Add 1 T. of vinegar, and swirl water in a circle. Crack egg into a small cup, and lower into the water (white should swirl together because of the motion of the water).

Tear off a chunk of dough about the size of a golf ball. Roll out until 1/4 inch think. Cook in a small frying pan over medium heat with a splash of olive oil, until browned on one side (about 2 minutes). Flip, and top with cheese, onion slices and arugula. Turn heat to low, and cover until the toppings melt (about 3 minutes).

Top with poached egg and freshly grated salt and pepper.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2009 10:08 am

    ooo, this looks delicious!! Did it actually help against your hangover…:) ? It must have…!

  2. Judy permalink
    March 29, 2009 2:51 pm

    I am hungover. I want this brunch.

  3. March 29, 2009 5:53 pm

    So simple and beautiful, and as a huge savory brunch fan, i bet this one really hits the spot!

  4. March 30, 2009 12:53 am

    This is the best idea. Poached eggs are one of my favorite breakfasts, and this pizza is so creative. Thanks for sharing!

  5. March 30, 2009 2:49 pm

    What a great idea!!! this looks amazing, light and filling at the same time. Perfect for brunch!

  6. March 31, 2009 1:18 am

    oh my gosh. this looks so wholesome and delicious. especially for hangover food.

  7. April 1, 2009 4:19 am

    Beautiful!

  8. April 7, 2009 7:33 pm

    I love egg on pizza and everyone thinks that is weird. Thanks for the validation– I’d eat this any day of the week.

  9. April 17, 2009 3:41 pm

    nice, really nice!

  10. March 22, 2010 12:09 pm

    trendul anului 2010 ? :D

  11. November 26, 2011 7:24 pm

    looks delicious, I will try your pizza recipe

  12. March 20, 2012 9:31 am

    your pizza is awesome

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 80 other followers

