Skip to content

Arugula, Shrimp & Roasted Potato Salad

March 19, 2009

18mar1shrimpsalad1

March in New York is such a tease. It shows just enough spring to get your hopes up, and then turns the cold shoulder. 

I left the house today all pleased with my spring skirt and daringly bare hands, and then made the mistake of talking to my parents in southern California, who were welcoming the season with blooming wisteria and sun-heated pools. Suddenly, my spring coat didn’t seem so celebratory.

But what my mom lacked in seasonal empathy, she made up for in recipes. She reminded me of one of my favorite warm weather dishes, a light arugula and shrimp salad with lemon and roasted potatoes. 

It was one of the first meals I learned how to prepare, part of the inaugural cookbook we carefully assembled before I went off to college. (I also left for my Eastern education without winter boots, warm pants, or any semblance of a coat – in retrospect, it wasn’t the most practical packing job).

But there’s a lot to be said for the California approach to cooking – just a few simple, fresh ingredients. I may not be eating this salad poolside, but it definitely added a shot of California sunshine to my almost-spring dinner.

Warm Arugula, Shrimp and Potato Salad
Serves 2

1 lb. shrimp, unpeeled*
7 T. extra virgin olive oil
1 lb. small potatoes, scrubbed and quartered (best to get multiple colors)
2 small cloves garlic, grated
4 T. lemon juice
1 tsp. lemon zest
1 tsp. minced fresh rosemary
20 calamata olives, pitted and halved
1/4 lb. baby arugula (4 cups loosely packed)

Heat the oven to 425. Toss potatoes with 1/2 T. olive oil, half the minced rosemary, more salt and pepper. Pour onto another baking sheet and arrange in a single layer. Bake for 20 minutes, until tender and slightly crisp.

Toss the shrimp with 1/2 T. of the oil and season with salt and pepper. Pour onto a large rimmed baking tray in a single layer. Roast for 7-8 minutes. Peel shrimp.

Meanwhile. Add garlic and two pinches salt and smash to a coarse paste. Add lemon juice, zest, remaining rosemary, and a few grinds of salt and pepper. Whisk in 5-6 T. olive oil. Taste and add more lemon juice and a pinch of sugar, if needed.

Add all ingredients to large mixing bowl and toss with dressing. Serve.

*If you’d rather not roast the shrimp, you can just shell them when they’re raw, and quickly stir fry them with a little olive oil on the stovetop.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Susan permalink
    March 19, 2009 1:53 pm

    With the addition of multi-colored potatoes you’ve improved on the original recipe. And I really like the shot of the salad on the bright yellow plate in front of the rununcula. Nice job.

  2. Liz permalink
    March 19, 2009 1:56 pm

    Thanks! I just happened to spot a bag of tiny, colorful potatoes at Trader Joe’s on the way home, and figured they’d add some flair. I will definitely be making it this way from now on.

  3. March 19, 2009 2:25 pm

    I know exactly what you mean! Yesterday it was so nice here in Ohio and today we are in the 30’s again, brrr. Amazing looking salad, so spring-like and healthy looking :)

  4. March 19, 2009 8:30 pm

    This couldn’t have been a more perfect find. My girlfriend and I are from Santa Monica and recently moved to NYC. We’ve been searching for anything to bring back a little California Sunshine. Thank you for this!

  5. March 19, 2009 8:33 pm

    It sounds like the weather in New York is more or less similar to the weather in Amsterdam at the moment. A bit of spring, lovely sunshine for the last couple of days but still quite chilly and certainly nothing like the californian sun… O even thinking about it, makes me jealous!
    I just discovered your blog through foodgawker and I love your photography and this recipe definitely gives me a feeling of spring!

  6. March 19, 2009 8:40 pm

    I love the photo, it’s so colourful. The salad sounds delicious too!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 82 other followers

